IND vs NZ Preview: New Zealand’s evening will come in Kanpur, India’s record is good, so it will be heavy!


Table of Contents


  • The first test between India and New Zealand will be played in Kanpur.
  • So far 3 test matches have been played between these two teams in Kanpur.
  • On all three occasions, the Indian team has been heavy on the guest.

The first Test of the two-Test series between India and New Zealand will be played from Thursday at the Green Park Stadium in Kanpur. Playing the Indian spin attack is going to be very challenging for New Zealand. The biggest reason for this is India’s scintillating record in Kanpur and on the other hand New Zealand have never won against India here.

So far, a total of 3 clashes between the two teams have taken place in Kanpur. The Indian team last played against New Zealand here. In 2016, India defeated New Zealand by a mammoth score of 197 runs. Apart from this, India also won in 1999, while in 1976 the match between the two teams was a draw. Now let’s talk about the overall record. India had lost here for the last time in 1983. Since then India either played a draw or won.

Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara, yearning for one hundred, what would happen to India without Rohit-Virat and Pant?
Defending World Test champions New Zealand would like to start the tournament with a win, but with a tremendous record on the home ground, India will come with high spirits. The Indian team will take the field without Virat Kohli (returning in the second Test), Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and injured KL Rahul. Before the tour of South Africa, it will be a good opportunity to try the young players in batting here.

Rahul’s absence means that there will be no plan to give Shubman Gill a chance in the middle order. At the same time, Shreyas Iyer can be seen making his debut in the middle order and experienced batsmen like Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara and Mayank Agarwal will have to perform better to strengthen the batting order. India will be strong in the spin bowling department as Ashwin and Jadeja took 16 out of 20 against New Zealand in the last match between the two teams here in 2016.

navbharat times
IND vs NZ Kanpur Test: How will Team India be in the absence of Virat, Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul? Learn
Ashwin (27) and Jadeja (14) took wickets in the previous Test series, which New Zealand lost 3-0. If the pitch will be like in 2016, Ashwin, Jadeja and Axar Patel would be expected to give chances to the trio, who took 27 wickets in the Test against England earlier this year. On the other hand, New Zealand opener Tom Latham will have to do well in the top order in the absence of Devon Conway while Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor and Henry Nicholls will need to do well in the middle order against the Indian spinners. The Kiwis would love to go with Ajaz Patel, Will Somerville and Mitchell Santner as well as Tim Southee and Neil Wagner in the bowling.

navbharat timesNot worried about form, contribution doesn’t mean scoring 100 runs in every match: Rahane
Both the teams are as follows-India team: Ajinkya Rahane (capt), Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Siraj, Jayant Yadav, KS Bharat (wicketkeeper) and the famous Krishna.
New Zealand team: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Latham, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell (wk), Will Young, Glenn Phillips (wk), Daryl Mitchell, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Kyle Jamieson, William Somerville, Ajaz Patel, Mitchell Santner and Rachin Ravindra.


Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here