Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Title battle between Karnataka and Tamil Nadu


New Delhi
Karnataka defeated Vidarbha by four runs in the second semi-final of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy at the Arun Jaitley Stadium here on Saturday. Karnataka scored 176/7 in 20 overs after half-centuries from Rohan Kadam (87 off 56 balls) and skipper Manish Pandey (54 off 42 balls).

Chasing the target, Vidarbha could not score 14 runs in the last over, due to which Karnataka made it to the final. Now Tamil Nadu and Karnataka will face each other in the final on Monday. Kadam of Karnataka came out to bat first and Pandey shared a partnership of 132 runs.

Kadam was initially given life by the wicketkeeper. After which other batsmen added runs at a fast pace and brought the score close to 180 runs. Fast bowler Yash Thakur conceded only eight runs in the 19th over, dismissing Karun Nair for just five runs.

At the same time, in the last over, all-rounder Darshan Nalkande got four wickets to get Vidarbha back in the match. Nalakande became the second bowler after Rajasthan leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi to take a hat-trick in the current tournament and the second Indian bowler after former Karnataka pacer Abhimanyu Mithun to take four wickets in four balls.

In reply, Atharva Taede hit 32 off 16 balls while his opening partner Ganesh Satish made 31 off 27 balls. Thus Vidarbha’s batsmen started well, but none of them failed to play big innings.

The spinners of Karnataka bowled well, which gave the team an advantage in the match. Vidarbha needed 42 in the last three overs. Karnataka conceded 13 and 15 runs in the 18th and 19th overs. After this, in the 20th over, Vidyadhar Patil defended 14 runs to give Karnataka a place in the final.


Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here